Posted by: The Simple Guy | December 29, 2014

The Offense of My Sinfulness

A week or so ago I read an online article about some National Guardsmen who were keeping the peace during the protesting and rioting in the Ferguson ordeal. Not sure if it was there or somewhere around the country, and don’t have a link, so I can’t verify the story. However, in this case the protesters were burning the flag. These Guardsmen went in to retrieve the remains of the flag and properly dispose of it. In the discussion someone was saying they didn’t understand the big deal because after all, it wasn’t their flag. Others tried to explain that it doesn’t matter who actually owned that particular flag, it was their flag because they are soldiers.

Full disclosure here: my brother served in Iraq and is a Marine, and my father served in Korea and was in the Army; but I have never worn the uniform. So while I have been around soldiers, I cannot understand from the inside out the depth of feeling that would be present in this circumstance. The passion is not surprising to me as I have seen it, but I don’t claim to understand. My personal feelings would be more along the line of disgust for the ingratitude of those living in the greatest country on earth who blame others rather than take responsibility for themselves.

But as I was pondering this, a somewhat related thought blindsided me.

We are made in God’s image, after his likeness. We were made to represent Him to all of the world. So when I am unrighteous, I drag His image or likeness through the filth. It’s like desecrating the flag. It is a direct affront to His honor. My sin is never just about me. It defames the Holy God of Heaven!!

Psalms 51:1 (ESV) 1 To the choirmaster. A Psalm of David, when Nathan the prophet went to him, after he had gone in to Bathsheba. Have mercy on me, O God, according to your steadfast love; according to your abundant mercy blot out my transgressions.

Psalms 51:2 (ESV) 2 Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin!

Psalms 51:3 (ESV) 3 For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me.

Psalms 51:4 (ESV) 4 Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you may be justified in your words and blameless in your judgment.

My sin is against Him and Him alone. This is the essence of my offense against a Holy God.

Your thoughts?

The Simple Guy

Leave a Reply

Categories

