Posted by: The Simple Guy | November 9, 2014

Small verse; life long task

Colossians 4:2 (KJV) 2 Continue in prayer, and watch in the same with thanksgiving;

“Continue” and “watch” are actually one word and it is only used once in the verse. It is written something like this:
Continue watching in prayer, and all of the above with thanksgiving.
This one word grabbed my attention. It is the idea of staying, watching, guarding, waiting.

It is the word used to describe the soldier and servants in this text:

Acts 10:7 (KJV) 7 And when the angel which spake unto Cornelius was departed, he called two of his household servants, and a devout soldier of them that waited on him continually;

So think of a security guard, or a waiter, or even a mother. That’s the picture.

What are we to station ourselves in watchfulness about? Prayer. Specifically thankfulness.

Many texts come to mind. Watch and pray lest you enter into temptation. How often does temptation prey on my lack of gratitude? Or how about 1 Thessalonians 5 where we are told to always rejoice, to never cease in prayer, and give thanks in everything. This is God’s will in our lives.

We find in Romans 1 that God’s wrath is directed toward those who know the truth, who know God, and are not grateful.

This is a big deal.

Your thoughts?

The Simple Guy

Responses

  1. Thank you for that. I was just meditating on these things myself this morning. I have a term I often use. I call it Monday morning Christianity. It is not a pejorative, it is a description of myself much of the time. It is when I am not doing any of these things, I am dealing instead with Monday morning. Heading off to work after a wonderful Sunday. The pressures of this world, finances, our culture, and on and on it goes steal on Monday morning the things that I held so dear Sunday morning. But I consider that these are the times that put me to the test. Can I, at least deep down inside, continue to live these things out in my heart and mind, even in the midst of my mundane and trying duties? To the extent that I am successful, I am happier, that is for sure.

    • May have to borrow your term Danny, I like it. Though we have never met, we can hold each other up in prayer that we would be faithful to this task we have been given. Thanks for your thoughts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

