Posted by: The Simple Guy | October 19, 2014

How do you study your Bible 2

Last time I discussed the mechanics of how I study. Now I would like to discuss the mindset I use.

We all see scripture through our own bias. I chose the following bias. All scripture is about Christ. I want to know how I can see Him in the text, and what I learn about Him. He is the point. I am secondary.

John 5:39 (NET) 39 You study the scriptures thoroughly because you think in them you possess eternal life, and it is these same scriptures that testify about me,

John 5:40 (NET) 40 but you are not willing to come to me so that you may have life.

Secondly, I am really careful about commentaries. There was a time I did not read them at all, and at that time it was probably wise to avoid them. I would rather read what He says, than what someone says about what He says.

Now I have relaxed that a little (but not much).
I will read commentaries once I have thoroughly observed the text. Sometimes I find a difficult passage and will read commentaries to find out how others deciphered the text. But only when I know the text myself well enough to measure what the commentaries say against the actual text.

I see this as an extension of reading various translations. When I am wrestling with a particularly difficult text, I don’t mind help with the heavy lifting once I have taken my turn grappling with it myself. I feel that it is sort of cheating off of other people’s paper to read commentaries too soon though. That isn’t to say I begrudge anyone else the use of commentaries , just relating how I do it.

Another method I use for tackling difficult topics is to find what Jesus said about the topic. I find that can clear up the confusion sometimes.

May revisit this later.

What have you learned that you can share?

Leave a Reply

Categories

