Posted by: The Simple Guy | September 20, 2014

Why The Struggle?

We looked at these verses in the last post:

 

Col 2:1 For I want you to know how great a struggle I have for you and for those at Laodicea and for all who have not seen me face to face,

Col 2:2 that their hearts may be encouraged, being knit together in love, to reach all the riches of full assurance of understanding and the knowledge of God’s mystery, which is Christ,

Col 2:3 in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

I mentioned how at first I was confused by Paul’s desire that people he had never met would know about his struggle on their behalf.  But as I looked at the original language I realized he was not emphasizing his part in the struggle, he was emphasizing the importance of the struggle or endeavor.

Then we looked at how he characterized the struggle.  He wanted their hearts to be encouraged and bound together in love so that they could attain the riches of the full assurance of thinking together in a way that recognizes Christ.  Knowing Him is the purpose of the struggle.  It appears that we cannot know Him by ourselves, but we must be together.  Meditating on that idea since the last post, my mind went to John 17 where Jesus prayed for us.

Essentially His prayer to His Father was this:

Father, I have shown the world who you are.  Now show the world who I am.  Do this two ways.  First, by what I am about to do.  (his sacrifice in our place, and resurrection for us)  Second, through the people You have given me.  I want them to be in complete unity together.  I want the world to know us through them, since I won’t be here to see.  I want them to come to be with us.

So realizing that His plan is for us to know Him through knowing each other made these verses that emphasize togetherness and His riches come to life for me.

Then I noticed verse 4.

Col 2:4 I say this in order that no one may delude you with plausible arguments.

I think life together protects us from missing the point, as we have to stay real.  I think isolation leads to a fall as our own weaknesses are exploited.  Fellowship results in the discomfort of being shown where I am inconsistent.  Iron sharpens iron, you know.

We stay together as we love one another.  Then I see Christ in you, and you see Christ in me.  Isolation results in a theoretical religion where I can talk myself into anything.

 

There are not several bodies of Christ.  We are the body of Christ.   Christ is not divided.

Lets work on life together so that we can see Christ in each other and the world can know us by our Love.

 

What do you say?

The Simple Guy

1Co 1:10-13

(10) I appeal to you, brothers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and the same judgment.

(11) For it has been reported to me by Chloe’s people that there is quarreling among you, my brothers.

(12) What I mean is that each one of you says, “I follow Paul,” or “I follow Apollos,” or “I follow Cephas,” or “I follow Christ.”

(13) Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

