Posted by: The Simple Guy | May 23, 2012

About Confession

Hi all!!  Has been a really long time since I’ve posted.  But I’m back for now.

Hate to jump in cold turkey, but wanted to post what was on my mind.

Have been considering the topic of sin, and the battle we have with our flesh; as well as how we are to live lives of victory.  Not to say I have it all figured out, or have reached perfection; but I have found a process that seems to help me  in my battle with the flesh to win more than I lose.  Thought I would share. . .

Today I will begin by discussing what I have been discovering about confessing sin, and there may be more posts to follow.

The context is:

1Jn 1:1-10 ESV
(1) That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we looked upon and have touched with our hands, concerning the word of life–
(2) the life was made manifest, and we have seen it, and testify to it and proclaim to you the eternal life, which was with the Father and was made manifest to us–
(3) that which we have seen and heard we proclaim also to you, so that you too may have fellowship with us; and indeed our fellowship is with the Father and with his Son Jesus Christ.
(4) And we are writing these things so that our joy may be complete.
(5) This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all.
(6) If we say we have fellowship with him while we walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth.
(7) But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.
(8) If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.
(9) If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.
(10) If we say we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.

John was speaking from experience.  He experienced (or is experiencing) eternal life. This is a life of fellowship with God. He is offering this fellowship to those who read 1Jn.  This offer of fellowship is an offer of fellowship with God primarily, and fellowship with his followers flows from that.  He had a message that is key in having fellowship with God.

This is the message:

God is light, in Him there is no darkness at all.  If we say we have this fellowship but walk in darkness, we lie, and do not practice the truth.  (I think truth and light are the same in this text)

But if we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another and Jesus’ blood cleanses us from our sins.

(I would say that we are walking into the light – toward Him – practicing the truth He has shown us)

If we deny our sin, we are fooling ourselves, and the truth is not in us (this is what walking in darkness is)

But if we confess our sin, He is faithful (does it every time) and just (it is the right thing to do) to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

But if we say we have not sinned, we are calling Him a liar, and His word is not in us.

 

It would seem to me that the key to this “walking in the light” is confessing our sins then.

How many times we have heard this verse used to speak of the idea of simply telling God what we did, and – shazzaam -our sins are gone.  (how silly, He already knows – must be more than that)

But to confess is to say the same thing as.  I can’t call my sin the same thing God calls it if I don’t see it as He sees it.  Could it be that walking into the light allows me to see what God sees?  And as I learn to agree with God about what my sin is, He takes it away?

For example, I have blogged before about how marriage is a reflection of Christ and the church.  The purpose of marriage is not my happiness, but to reflect in skin how Christ loves the church, and how the church is to submit to Christ.  If I don’t understand that this is the purpose of marriage, but instead see it from a worldly perspective, how can I possibly please God with my marriage and experience victory in having a Christ centered marriage?  If I think everything has to be fair and my wife owes me certain things, I will expect things from her that do not accurately reflect what God has designed.  This will result in turmoil in the relationship.  Possibly the key then is to at least have the right goal in mind as to what my role as husband is.  I am to love my wife with my very life as Christ loves me.   Unless I see my marriage in these terms, I will not even know I am in sin, and cannot possibly have victory over it.

So I have been thinking about how He forgives and cleanses my sin as I see what is true about my sin.

The next thought has been so exciting for me.

Guess what else is true about my sin.

Rom 6:1-7 ESV
(1) What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound?
(2) By no means! How can we who died to sin still live in it?
(3) Do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death?
(4) We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life.
(5) For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we shall certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his.
(6) We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin.
(7) For one who has died has been set free from sin.

I died with Christ.  I rose with Christ.  Craig is dead.  Christ lives in me.  Sin is no longer my master!  I don’t have to give in to its demands anymore.

Rom 6:8-14 ESV
(8) Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him.
(9) We know that Christ, being raised from the dead, will never die again; death no longer has dominion over him.
(10) For the death he died he died to sin, once for all, but the life he lives he lives to God.
(11) So you also must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus.
(12) Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body, to make you obey its passions.
(13) Do not present your members to sin as instruments for unrighteousness, but present yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life, and your members to God as instruments for righteousness.
(14) For sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace.

So I am to present my members to God as His members, myself as His servant to obey.  Perhaps this is part of what it means that “the just shall live by faith”.  The realization that I do not have to obey sin’s demands is also part of confession.  This is not just a flare prayer I shoot up to say, “Oops, I did it again”  Instead, I believe by faith that sin is a defeated foe, and that the next sin is not inevitable.  This is part of living that “resurrected power” or experiencing “eternal life”.  Have you noticed that John says he writes this so that we will know that we have eternal life, not will receive eternal life?

He promised that with the temptation, He will provide a way of escape.

So my prayer as I walk into the light is “Lord, help me to see temptation in the windshield rather than in the rear view mirror, this way I can be looking for the way of escape.”

 

I had a friend ask me the other day, as we spoke of this topic, “what are you going to believe, your experience, or God’s Word?”  Do you walk by faith, or by sight?  Worth pondering I’d say. . .

 

Your thoughts?

 

Craig J.

Leave a Reply

Categories

