Posted by: The Simple Guy | September 3, 2011

Has it really been 9 years??

My lovely daughter turned 9 today.  She was the first one to be born at home. What a blessing that was.  We still live in the same house, I can go the spot where she was born and remember. . .

Headed there when I finish this post, in fact.

We had just built our house when she was born.  My first home.

I grew up moving all of the time.  There isn’t one place I think of as “home” growing up. We lived in 9 houses that I remember in the 19 years before I moved out on my own, and one was a camper trailer that sat in several different locations.  I’m not complaining, just the facts.

I remember sitting on the steps in the living room about a month before Tobey was born and crying, because I was so afraid that God would take this house away from us because I wanted it so bad.  I was so excited and scared to finally have a place to call home.  I wanted so badly for my children to be able to think of home, and not feel transplanted. . .

Heather’s dad built our house.  I remember as I was sitting there on the steps that day, I thought of these verses:

Mat 7:9-11 KJV
(9)  Or what man is there of you, whom if his son ask bread, will he give him a stone?
(10)  Or if he ask a fish, will he give him a serpent?
(11)  If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?

I remember realizing that God is my Father, and if Heather’s earthly father delighted in building her a house, my Heavenly Father also delights in me having a home.  It should never be more important than He is, but He wants me to understand the idea of “home”

That place I sat 9 years ago is about 3 feet from where I am sitting today.  He has allowed us to have so many memories here.  Three of our children have never known another home.

This song became very special to me during that time.

Tobey’s birthday always takes me back to that time. . .

Every child has a special place in my life, and brings different life lessons to mind.

I love you Tobey,

Craig

Responses

  1. Time is a pretty amazing thing, isn’t it? Tobey has definitely been a special addition to our family 🙂

    I remember realizing that God is my Father, and if Heather’s earthly father delighted in building her a house, my Heavenly Father also delights in me having a home.

    Interesting that this is your perspective. My mind usually wanders to the passages that speak of being sojourners on the earth. (like 1 Peter 2:11 Beloved, I urge you as sojourners and exiles to abstain from the passions of the flesh, which wage war against your soul. ) and I start to worry about becoming too comfortable here. Most of the time, I feel unsettled, as you described regarding your childhood experience.

    Sadly, the preoccupation obscures the truth about God being a good Father who enjoys taking care of the needs of those who identify as His children.

  2. What a sweet expression of holy memories! Thanks for sharing it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

