Posted by: The Simple Guy | January 22, 2011

Tough Love

It’s hard sometimes to know how to be tough with a friend, but still love them.  Not a mushy feeling sort of love, but actually love them, so they know it.

I had an experience today where I had to tell someone I really care about some tough truth.  My prayer is that they will still know I love them and am totally committed to them.  Time will tell.

The temptation was to find a way to make nice and hope for the opportunity to slip in some words of wisdom.  Problem was, what they are going to do is dead wrong.  I can’t pretend to approve and “make nice” hoping they will come around.  They know where I really am.  All that would do is undermine any credibility there may be in the relationship.  What would we build on then?

These verses came to mind while I was talking to them:

Pro 27:5-6 ESV
(5) Better is open rebuke than hidden love.
(6) Faithful are the wounds of a friend; profuse are the kisses of an enemy.

But I also was thinking of this verse:

Pro 17:17 ESV
(17) A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.

The challenge now will be to find how to still “be there” for them in adversity.  Pray for me friends.  Wish I could say more, but I can’t.

Craig

I pray that the hunger is still there for the truth, whether or not the truth is being followed at this time . . .

Responses

  1. Praying.

    Love you.

  2. Will be praying for you too Brother!…….Friends like that are hard to find these days…….unfortunately.

  3. Thanks for your help Heather, I really needed your support this weekend. You are the half that makes me whole.

    Tom,
    Thanks for the prayers. It’s hard to strike the balance between saying what is true, and being able to love so they know it. It’s so easy to either write someone off as a hopeless case, or just let it pass without comment.
    Pro 22:11 ESV
    (11) He who loves purity of heart, and whose speech is gracious, will have the king as his friend.
    Craig

  4. I hope it worked out with your friend. I am always amazed that you can put so much scripture to your topics. your friend is blessed to have someone who knows truth so well…
    You are a great example for us!

  5. Will be interacting with this person again tomorrow. They want to see me for some reason, and I don’t know what is on their mind. Please pray. .
    Craig


Leave a Reply

Categories

