Posted by: The Simple Guy | October 24, 2010

Ups and Downs

Just wanted to stop back in and sort of catch up a bit.

Looks like the start of a rather hectic time is underway.  My job is difficult in the winter months, and we have been trying to get prepared.  You win some, and lose some.  Mechanically the equipment is in pretty good shape, but the crew is very inexperienced, and we just had a couple of manpower setbacks this last week.  Won’t comment further on that except to say that it’s going to mean some substantial overtime.  And just when we had that under control!

It’s hunting season, and I have two kids hunting with me now.  Tyson is 15 and Alicia is 12.  Alicia just passed hunter’s safety this year.  We’ve been out 3 times so far, but haven’t seen anything but squirrels.  We don’t hunt them up here.  🙂

Anyhow, with all of the overtime, I hope I can still figure out how to get out with the kids, and maybe one of us can get a deer.  Would hate for an upset condition at work to mess that up again.  Seems like I’ve been here before.

My younger brother from Australia is coming up next week for a quick visit.  I think it’s been right at 3 years since we’ve seen him.  Looking forward to that.  Jack and I are about 3 and a half years apart.  Growing up, keeping an eye on him was my job.  I’ve always been rather protective of him, and really miss him now that he’s on the other side of the world.  Amazing how much Tyson reminds me of Jack.

Had to put down our dog this week.  He bit for a second time.  What a heart-break that was.  He was mostly a very good dog, and I’ve never connected with a dog like I did with him.  He made sense to me, and was so eager to please.   But my dog couldn’t begin to touch my love for my children, so . . .

That was tough, what else can you say?

So I cried.  It didn’t help.  I hugged the kids, and we cried together.  That helped.

And Tyson comforted me.  He is a good man.  He worked hard at comforting those around him.  What a manly thing.

I don’t want to forget that.

Ever.

But again I was amazed at our God.  I can’t even take care of my dog, but He takes care of me, and he used my son.  Isn’t that how He works?

So right now there are both ups and downs.

Life goes on . . . at His pleasure.

Craig

Responses

  1. I am so sorry for your dog but I am glad about your son.

  2. I am thankful for you Brother, in the ups and the downs!!

  3. Hope you and your kids get deer – and that you get time to hunt with them. And so sorry about the dog, but I applaud you for making a responsible decision. Seems like so many folks aren’t quite rational about pets in my neck of the woods.

    Thanks for your comments at HG,

    Julie

  4. Thanks friends for your kind and encouraging words.

    It wasn’t very easy to be rational.

    But there are worse problems to have, I suppose. Thankful none of the kids were seriously hurt, and it wasn’t a neighbor or guest or something like that!!

    Craig

  5. […] if any of you read this post, you will understand that I feel I am on the front end of some trials.  As a matter of fact, with […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

