Posted by: The Simple Guy | October 9, 2010

Saved x 3

Up at 4am this morning to travel across country and watch a football game with Squirrel. Hey, Squirrel, thanks for being the tour guide. I couldn’t have done it without your help.  It is much more fun to go with someone who knows the ropes.  The weather was great, the crowd was awesome.  Just a great time!

(Montana Grizzlies trounced the Idaho State Bengals, for those of you keeping track at home 47-28)

Tyson had fun too.

We got home at 9:30pm so that made for a long day.

Squirrel and I had some stimulating discussion on the way there from our meeting point.

One thing he said that I want to remember and come back to later (I believe it was a quote from Alistair Begg – but I’m sure I’ll butcher it to the point it won’t be a quote anymore 😉 )

I am saved, I am being saved, and I will be saved.

I am saved from the punishment of sin by the finished work of Christ on the cross, that is justification.

I am being saved from the power of sin by the sanctifying work of the Holy Spirit.   This is sanctification.

I will be saved from the presence of sin when I receive my glorified body.  This is glorification.

To recap, I am saved from the punishment of sin, am being saved from the power of sin, and will be saved from the presence of sin.

We should be careful not to confuse justification with sanctification, or with glorification.

Hmm. . .   I must ponder this,

Thanks Brother!

Craig

Responses

  1. I am saved, I am being saved, and I will be saved.

    I really liked this statement, as well as the explanation. The expanded points you noted are very similar to what went through my head…

    Saved positionally…sealed by the Spirit and seated with Christ the moment a person believes

    Saved in time…by way of the sanctification process which cleanses our “feet” as we continue to walk, as a believer, through this life.

    Saved at the resurrection…when finally freed from the “body of death” which cannot enter into God’s presence.

    But I like the way your post words it just fine 🙂

  2. I had a great time at the football game, and I’m really glad you and Tyson got to come down.

    (I’m even willing to overlook all of Tyson’s squirrel jokes… this time…)

    Yes, I did hear that from Alistair Begg, but, as I recall, he was quoting someone else.

    Squirrel


Leave a Reply

Categories

