Posted by: The Simple Guy | August 10, 2010

Thankfulness

I don’t remember if I have blogged about this or not; but if so, I hope you bear with me.

A while back Heather and I were discussing Romans 1.  I believe we were looking at the downward slide  from creation to perversion as seen in verses 18 – 32.  I remember my shock as I realized that while sexual perversions are at the end of the downward slide, I am regularly guilty of the sins at the beginning of the slide.  And these sins are the ones it says God’s wrath is poured out against.

Rom 1:18-21 MKJV
(18)  For the wrath of God is revealed from Heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who suppress the truth in unrighteousness,
(19)  because the thing which may be known of God is clearly revealed within them, for God revealed it to them.
(20)  For the unseen things of Him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being realized by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, for them to be without excuse.
(21)  Because, knowing God, they did not glorify Him as God, neither were thankful. But they became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened.

“Because, knowing God, they did not glorify Him as God, neither were thankful.”

My thanklessness is the root of my sin.  And as we discussed this, we realized that it is the essence of the sin in Genesis 3.   “Hath God not said? – well, He knows that in the day you eat the fruit you will be wise like Him!”

Since that time, I have noticed thankfulness time and again in my studies.  How often Paul speaks of thankfulness from prison!

How often I have noticed that the key to winning the private battles of my own thought life is thankfulness.

I wonder how much the fruit of the Spirit in my life is an outgrowing of thankfulness.

Lately I have noticed it in Colossians, first in Paul’s own prayer for them:

Col 1:3-5 MKJV
(3)  We give thanks to God and the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, praying always for you,
(4)  since we heard of your faith in Christ Jesus, and of the love you have to all the saints,
(5)  for the hope which is laid up for you in Heaven, of which you heard before in the Word of the truth of the gospel,

and then he prays that they will be thankful:

Col 1:12-14 MKJV
(12)  giving thanks to the Father, who has made us meet to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in light.
(13)  For He has delivered us from the power of darkness and has translated us into the kingdom of His dear Son;
(14)  in whom we have redemption through His blood, the remission of sins.

and then notice how it is at the very core of the life of faith, not in any small measure either:

Col 2:6-7 MKJV
(6)  Therefore as you have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him,
(7)  rooted and built up in Him, and established in the faith, as you have been taught, abounding in it with thanksgiving.

So are you thankful?

Your thoughts?

Craig

Responses

  1. Brother,

    I believe one of the hardest verses to apply is where Paul writes that we are to “give thanks in all things.” It is easy to be thankful when things are “going our way”, but when times are tough and the going is rough, a thankful heart is not always evident! I see my own need in this area, just as you related about yourself!


Leave a Reply

Categories

