Posted by: The Simple Guy | July 25, 2010

The Thunderbirds and Psalm 18.

As I mentioned in the last post, we went and saw the Air Force Thunderbirds yesterday.  It was an extremely moving experience for me, and I did not expect this, as I tend to be somewhat cynical of our government.  I have felt that our “Christian Nation” status has long been gone.  I feel it was a thing of the past before I was born.  I have felt since President George H. W. Bush that the “two-party system” was a bit of a bait and switch game.  But that isn’t my point.  Simply that I am not the one who jumps up and waves the flag, and shouts “God bless America” at the drop of a hat.  I pray earnestly for our nation and I love her dearly, don’t get me wrong.

So to get back on track, I was very moved when this particular picture was taken:

Let me explain.  A little earlier, the P51 mustang had flown over, and the fellow on the PA system had said he would be quiet while it flew over, because he wanted us to hear what it sounded like.  After it flew over from behind us, he explained how that sound had been a sound of extreme comfort for the Allied forces, as this meant they had air support. They apparently called the P51 their “little friend”.  So as it flew over, we were thinking about what it must have been like to be up against a formidable enemy, and in the trenches.  Then you hear the sound of air support, and your courage is renewed!

Later in the Thunderbird’s section of the air show, just after watching this type of manuever come across in front of us;

Suddenly 4 Thunderbirds in diamond formation THUNDERED in from the rear.  We saw them before we heard them, just overhead.  Then as they passed us and did a 90 up into the sky,  my mind went back to the P51 Mustang.  I thought again of what it would be like to be against a formidable force and have the Air Force come from behind you and obliterate your enemies.  What a thrill that would be!  What a relief!  What an impressive show of force it was!

My mind went back to my favorite Psalm: (Think of the Thunderbirds dominating the scene as you read this)

Psa 18:2-18 ESV
(2)  The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
(3)  I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies.
(4)  The cords of death encompassed me; the torrents of destruction assailed me;
(5)  the cords of Sheol entangled me; the snares of death confronted me.
(6)  In my distress I called upon the LORD; to my God I cried for help. From his temple he heard my voice, and my cry to him reached his ears.
(7)  Then the earth reeled and rocked; the foundations also of the mountains trembled and quaked, because he was angry.
(8)  Smoke went up from his nostrils, and devouring fire from his mouth; glowing coals flamed forth from him.
(9)  He bowed the heavens and came down; thick darkness was under his feet.
(10)  He rode on a cherub and flew; he came swiftly on the wings of the wind.
(11)  He made darkness his covering, his canopy around him, thick clouds dark with water.
(12)  Out of the brightness before him hailstones and coals of fire broke through his clouds.
(13)  The LORD also thundered in the heavens, and the Most High uttered his voice, hailstones and coals of fire.
(14)  And he sent out his arrows and scattered them; he flashed forth lightnings and routed them.
(15)  Then the channels of the sea were seen, and the foundations of the world were laid bare at your rebuke, O LORD, at the blast of the breath of your nostrils.
(16)  He sent from on high, he took me; he drew me out of many waters.
(17)  He rescued me from my strong enemy and from those who hated me, for they were too mighty for me.
(18)  They confronted me in the day of my calamity, but the LORD was my support.

Folks, the Thunderbirds were impressive, but they weren’t there for me.  They don’t know me, and if they did, they probably wouldn’t understand my thoughts and feelings.  I love the military, I love our country, I am forever indebted to those who serve.  But I fear our government, and it doesn’t matter what administration.  I have feared for a long time that they aren’t in it for patriotism, regardless of the party.  They weren’t there for me.

But Psalm 18:19 says that God Thundered to my rescue because He loves me.

Psa 18:19 ESV
(19)  He brought me out into a broad place; he rescued me, because he delighted in me.

He delighted in me!

The thunderous display of the Air Force’s finest is only a drop in the bucket compared to the God who loves me and rescued me.

Anyhow, just the rambling thoughts of one man, thought I’d share with you.

And to those of you who served, thank you so much for your sacrifice, discipline, love, and devotion to our homeland.  I am forever grateful for what you have done.

Here are some more pictures of what we saw:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Craig

Responses

  1. Craig,

    Reminds me again of the Romans 8 passge, “If God be for us, who can be against us?”


Leave a Reply

Categories

