Posted by: The Simple Guy | July 2, 2010

Liberty: What is it really?

Independence day is coming up, and I am sure there will be lots of posts up about freedom, liberty, and the American way.  This isn’t like that.  I just want to share something  for your edification, and for me to remember later:

I don’t normally blog about work, so this is the exception to the rule.  Let me say in advance, that I respect my employer and his representatives.  I think this was done properly, and I deeply appreciate the way they went about what has happened in my story here.

This story starts almost exactly 2 years ago when I made a career change.  I am a boiler operator by trade , in the sawmill industry and was having some success in that field.  But I saw the opportunity to move from that technical role to a management training role.  I applied for that position, and was given the job.  (within the same company, just a different job.)  My goal was not the secondary role, but the supervisory role.

Well, it was quite a learning experience, and not without its difficulties.  A few weeks ago the opportunity came to apply for the supervisory role I have been training for.  We went through the application process, interviews, etc.  After 2 years of trying, I didn’t get the job.  That wasn’t much of a problem.  But what took me kind of by surprise was when my management team took me aside and asked me to go back to my former technical role.  This was not a demotion, actually I get a raise in the process.  They made sure to tell me this, and even said they think I am one of the best in the state, or even a greater region at my trade as a boiler operator.

But what I realized was that I am not cut out for the role I had set up in my own mind as a goal.  This was pretty disappointing for me.  I really tried hard to reach that goal, and now I have to set it aside.  My old job opened up, partly because the fellow who replaced me, someone I hired, got the department supervisor job we both applied for.   But let me back up a second here.

We went through a weekend after the interviews without knowing what the decision was or who was going to get the job.  Monday as I was driving in to work, I prayed and asked God to make it obvious what I was to do if I was offered the job.  (while I applied, I was not certain I would accept yet.  Not sure I was ready)  When I was taken aside and offered my old job, that seemed to be the answer to the prayer.  I even said so at the time.  But then the questions started going through my mind.

I have come to realize in some ways that I had gotten off track in my own priorities.  Sometimes you have to come up against your own limitations to realize that you have placed your affections in the wrong place.  I asked God for guidance, and He directed me, but not in a way I had anticipated.  One added nuance is that in retrospect I have come to realize that the answer was in play before I asked.  They had decided to ask me this before I was driving to work that morning.

So I have some recalibrating to do.  I want so badly to do this right and honor God.  I am so thankful to have a job and to do this in a place where I am wanted.  As you think of me, please pray that I will not lose focus, and that Christ will be honored in my actions and attitudes.

I’ve heard a couple of songs in my growing up years that came to mind and relate the emotions of this last week.   The words don’t exactly match but the overall idea does.  They both express how we can be prisoners of our own wrong pursuits.  Liberty happens when we are where God wants us and doing His will for His glory.  It is not in this or that job, this or that pay scale, this or that relationship.  It is in being where I was made to be.  When you ask God for guidance, listen for His voice.  If he says what you didn’t want to hear, that’s ok.  He loves you and knows what is best.  Freedom is in the answer He gives.

Take Me To The End
Words and music: Mike Schmitz

I’m afraid I’ve got nothing
To show for the years
So many doubts
And collections of fears
But my heart won’t let go of the hope
That it’s working for good
I’ve decided to change myself
So many times
All my efforts like
The antics of pitiful mimes
And the distance seems greater sometimes
For the places I’ve stood
There’s death anchored deep in my soul
But still I hesitate to let You take control

Take me to the end of the world
I just want to be free
Take me to the end of the world
Take me to the end of the world
I really want to be free
Take me to the end of the world in me

The world’s not a place
It’s the state of a man
When he relies on his senses
To understand
For the scientist or lawyer that’s fine
But it won’t feed your heart
Who is the loser of the games
That we play
When a man clings to things
That are passing away

Up To The Mountain
Words and music: Mike Schmitz

Take your past up to the mountain
Take your future up there, too
Take it all up to the mountain
And see if it’s true
Take your wife up to the mountain
Take your children up to see
Take it all up to the mountain
And get yourself free
Get yourself free

Take it all up to the mountain
Take it all up to the mountain
Take it all up to the mountain
And get yourself free
Gotta get yourself free, yeah

For what it’s worth,

Craig

Responses

  1. I pray that God continues to guide and council you in His perfect way Craig!
    He is able to do abundantly more than all we ask or think!

  2. Thanks Tom.
    I was thinking of how we all believe that God directs man’s steps. He raises men up and brings them down. But we have to believe it for ourselves as well. His plan is perfect. He knows the plans He has for me, plans that are good. Praise Him!

    Craig

  3. That Greg X. Volz video brought back some memories.

  4. Yes,
    I like remembering. Funny how life goes in circles sometimes. Songs that used to mean something, mean something again.

    Welcome to my site!

    Craig

  5. Craig, sorry I was so slow in reading this post. May the Lord encourage you in your new/old role. My story is somewhat similar. I studied to be a pastor; was a pastor of three different churches, but not a good pastor. I was gently fired from the last one. A pastor friend got me a job doing computer help desk, and I’ve been doing that for near a quarter century. I seem to do it well. Meanwhile, the Lord lets me be active in church.

  6. Thanks for the encouraging words Jim, and for your prayers.

    One week and counting. There is lots to do, and I am not bored. In hindsight, I don’t think I could have done the job I applied for, and I am better suited where I am. This can work.

    Craig

  7. I love the spirit in which you said this:
    “I studied to be a pastor; was a pastor of three different churches, but not a good pastor. I was gently fired from the last one. A pastor friend got me a job doing computer help desk, and I’ve been doing that for near a quarter century. I seem to do it well. Meanwhile, the Lord lets me be active in church.”

    reminds me of this line. .

    “it takes a man to stand and cheer while the other fellow stars”

    Actually, there is only One “star”

    Thanks again my friend.

    Craig


Leave a Reply

Categories

