Posted by: The Simple Guy | May 14, 2010

Have you ever wondered?

As I was doing my daily Bible reading today I noticed something that has gotten past me literally hundreds of times.

I was reading Genesis chapter 3.  Now if you had asked me when Adam gave Eve her name, I would have probably guessed that it would be found in the second chapter, when he woke up from the deep sleep.  But that’s not it.  When Adam woke up from the deep sleep (during which God made Eve) Adam said this:

Genesis 2:23 RSV
(23)  Then the man said, “This at last is bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man.”

This is when he called her Woman.

Adam names her Eve right after God pronounces the curses on the serpent, Eve, and Adam.  Here is the context.

Genesis 3:9-19 RSV
(9)  But the LORD God called to the man, and said to him, “Where are you?”
(10)  And he said, “I heard the sound of thee in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked; and I hid myself.”
(11)  He said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten of the tree of which I commanded you not to eat?”
(12)  The man said, “The woman whom thou gavest to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.”
(13)  Then the LORD God said to the woman, “What is this that you have done?” The woman said, “The serpent beguiled me, and I ate.”
(14)  The LORD God said to the serpent, “Because you have done this, cursed are you above all cattle, and above all wild animals; upon your belly you shall go, and dust you shall eat all the days of your life.
(15)  I will put enmity between you and the woman,  and between your seed and her seed;  he shall bruise your head,  and you shall bruise his heel.”
(16)  To the woman he said,  “I will greatly multiply your pain in childbearing;  in pain you shall bring forth  children,  yet your desire shall be for your  husband,  and he shall rule over you.”
(17)  And to Adam he said,  “Because you have listened to the  voice of your wife,  and have eaten of the tree  of which I commanded you, ‘You shall not eat of it,’  cursed is the ground because of you;  in toil you shall eat of it all the  days of your life;
(18)  thorns and thistles it shall bring  forth to you;  and you shall eat the plants of the  field.
(19)  In the sweat of your face  you shall eat bread  till you return to the ground,  for out of it you were taken;  you are dust,  and to dust you shall return.”

The very first thing out of Adam’s mouth is not an answer to God.  He turns to Eve and says this:

Genesis 3:20 RSV
(20)  The man called his wife’s name Eve, because she was the mother of all living.

The next thing that happens is:

Genesis 3:21 RSV
(21)  And the LORD God made for Adam and for his wife garments of skins, and clothed them.

As I looked at this, I stopped cold.  Why did Adam turn from hearing what God said and name his wife Eve?

Have you ever stopped and wondered this?  What is the importance of the context in this instance?

What do you think?

The name “Eve” meant she was the mother of all who live. (I am told Eve sounds like the Hebrew for “live giver” and resembles the word for “living”)

They just ate from the tree, and are going to die.

But God said from her seed there would be one who would crush the serpent’s head!

You see, scripture teaches that I was in Adam when he sinned. (1 Cor 15:22)  But Adam looked at Eve and recognized that someone was “in” her who was living, and in whom was their only hope!

Adam turned from his sin and put his faith in what God said.  He named his wife so he would not forget their only hope.

Then God covered them.

Sends chills up my spine!

What a beautiful picture of the Gospel.  In Genesis 3!

I have never heard this taught anywhere.  Anyone think I am off my rocker here?

Craig

Responses

  1. Craig,

    An interesting observation that I will certainly look at in greater detail!
    In the same vein, I have always found it to be a striking fact that before the fall Adam and Eve were both referred to as “Adam”, so there is an evident division that results from their sin that effects not only their relationship with God but also with each other.

  2. What a interesting thought!

  3. I always took for granted that Eve was the name given because all would be born from her seed. Very interesting thought Craig!

    I finally made it to your blog site! =)

  4. Hey Craig!

    Hadnt stopped by your blog for a while but just read this and had to comment. That is a really interesting observation and an interpretation Ive never heard of. Wow! What a great way to start the day….thanks for sharing! love k.

  5. Another thing I noticed while reading this, that I have not quite put together is the parallel between Adam and Abraham. Both put their faith in God by trusting in the fruit of their wife’s womb.

    A recurring theme, but I don’t know what it means.

    Still processing, and welcoming input.

    Lyle and Karina, welcome to the site, hope you enjoy!

    Craig

  6. […] story that starts in Genesis 3.  A theme that winds through all of Scripture.  We see it as God covered Adam and Eve with skins, we see it as God provided escape for Noah, we see it when God walks through the blood in […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

