Posted by: The Simple Guy | March 6, 2010

No more night, revisited

A little over a year ago, I had the privilege of spending some time with a dear Christian family.  The mother was in the final stages of cancer.  I had heard of this family before, but met them at this time.  Here is a re-cap of what God laid on my heart at this time:

No More Night December 24, 2008

A month ago tomorrow the elders met at a family’s house to pray for healing. A wife and mother was in mortal combat with cancer. Her weak and frail frame told the story of a long and difficult journey. Her face, however, told the story of a peace and joy that passes understanding. I have never seen a person more frail and fragile. She could just barely move from the recliner in the corner of the room to the rocking chair in the center of the room where we prayed for her.

However, I do not believe I have ever been in the presence of such strength. I felt like a midget among giants in that home. There was a peace and confidence in Christ that radiated from that entire family. I knew that I was to pray for God to heal her. I knew that we were to boldly approach the throne of Grace, crawl up on the lap of our Father and ask for healing. I did not know what the answer would be. I knew God was going to do what He wanted, and that He is the Giver of good gifts, in whom is not the slightest change or shifting shadow. Yet beside them my faith seemed so frail.

After the elders prayed she prayed. She entered into the presence of God in such a way that I just cannot describe. After we prayed for them, we sang some songs. Her frail frame seemed to be set aside as she sang “It Is Well With My Soul” (Hers was the loudest voice in the room!)

Last week, she won her struggle. She is now in the presence of our Lord. When I heard that she had passed away, my first reaction was to think God didn’t heal her after all. But that thought was not even complete in my mind before I KNEW that God did in fact heal her. You see, the world she is in now is REAL. When compared with our reality, It has surpassing reality. Ours is the temporary one. Hers is the permanent one. She is in the arms of Jesus. How dare I even begin to think that God has not healed her. God has taken a wretched sinner destined for Hell and damnation and restored her to himself. She will now live in the very presence of the Risen Lamb for eternity. If that isn’t healing, what is? We need to stop viewing things on just the physical earthly level. We need to start seeing things the way God sees them, because that is the ultimate reality.

O Death, where is your sting? O Grave, where is your victory?

She leaves behind a husband and 6 children. I do not grieve for her at all. But I do grieve their loss. Please pray that God will continue to uphold them in this time of trial and temptation.

This experience has been very instructive to me as my own father struggles with cancer. Father, please give me the strength I saw in that home. Give me the confidence that radiates to the world that my home is not here and my treasure is in another place. WE have a Hope beyond the grave!

Craig

P.S.

A couple days after this original post, I saw the husband at a convenience store getting coffee.  I was waiting in line behind him.  When he turned around, he knew he recognized me, but couldn’t remember from where.  I reminded him, and he stopped and talked to me for a while.  As we conversed, I noticed that his eyes were not bloodshot, he appeared rested and refreshed.  He was ready to go back to the mission field where he and his wife had been for years.

God was still taking care of him!  Not just sustaining him, but SUSTAINING him.   I never want to forget that meeting.  (and you never know who is watching you, either)

Posted by The Simple Guy in David Phelps, healing, no more night, video.
trackback , edit post

Responses

  1. Craig,

    What a great testimony of God’s abiding grace! We never really realize just how faithful He is until we are pushed to our extremities do we?

  2. I still remember your post from last year. And have often rested in the assurance of Gods answer to prayer; knowing that it may not be the answer I expected.

  3. Thanks for sharing, I wish we seen this kind of praying more often! And you are right, she is completely healed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

