Posted by: The Simple Guy | January 21, 2010

persecuted but not forsaken

I have been contemplating these verses in preparing for Sunday’s sermon.

2 Corinthians 4:8-10 RSV
(8)  We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair;
(9)  persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed;
(10)  always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies.

I asked Heather the other day if she knew Paul was depressed.  She looked at me like I was on drugs or something.  (she puts up with a lot of off the wall things from me. )  😎

The word afflicted is the idea of being pressed down hard and heavy with an unbearable load.  Perplexed means having no idea what to do next.  Paul said in chapter 1 that:

. . we were so utterly, unbearably crushed that we despaired of life itself.

Now I am probably taking a bit of license to say he was depressed, but if he wasn’t it must have been pretty close to it!

But the other side of this is absolutely beautiful to me.

I was thinking of the next statement: “Persecuted, but not forsaken”

Now remember, in my last post I spoke of my struggle with depression.  If I was to define where I was in three words, they would be “weak, tired, and alone.”  The strongest of the three would have been “alone”

As I was driving home from work this evening, I was contemplating this phrase, particularly the word forsaken.

Just because I felt alone didn’t mean I was.  But there is One who was completely, totally ALONE.

Matthew 27:46 ASV
(46)  And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

I have felt the illusion.  He endured the reality.  His own Father, with whom He had been in constant sweet fellowship for ETERNITY turned His back.  He who knew no sin was made sin for me.  Talk about “pressed down” or afflicted.

I had to pull over and weep.  I can’t bear it!  Such a heart-break that He endured in my place!  He was forsaken so I won’t be.

Thank you my Jesus!

Craig

Responses

  1. Powerful truth Craig, only the God-man could endure such abandonment and such a load of grief. It truly does boggle the mind and draws out the heart in wonder and awe at such grace! This truth could be meditated on for the rest of our lives.

  2. May we never lose sight of it, even though we can’t fathom it.

    Craig


Leave a Reply

Categories

