Posted by: The Simple Guy | January 3, 2010

Rest in Him

I’m 38 years old.  Not young anymore, but not old yet either.  Lately my life has had some challenges where I was tempted to trust in some of the strengths of my youth.  Those strengths are waning.  My memory isn’t what it used to be.  I have been dealing with some situations at work (with equipment) that required me to keep track of several things at the same time, and think quickly.  Used to almost come natural.  Doesn’t anymore, my memory isn’t to be trusted, I have to write things down.  I have been required to work some long hours (21 hours on one shift, 6 hours off, then 19 hours).  Finding out I am not as young as I used to be.  Had to work graveyard shift for several nights in a row. (about three weeks with one night off)  6pm – 6am.  I used to be able to sleep well whenever I needed to.  Not anymore.

Heather has been learning directly from God and from her Bible lately.  A wonderful thing to watch, but it is a new experience for me to step back and let God teach His daughter things I don’t know.  I have felt that I was trying to catch a moving train, and my mind isn’t as quick as it used to be.  I would chalk it up to being tired, except I have heard my Dad say the same things.  He mentioned the other day that his mind isn’t a young man’s mind anymore.  When he described what he meant, I recognized it as some of the same things I have noticed in myself.

This isn’t a complaint, or a pity party.  Just setting the scene before I give glory where it is due.  I have been learning that I am not at my peak in life anymore.  I am sensing the downhill slide beginning.  This could be a fearful thing.  Would be devastating if I had to depend upon myself alone.   I have been coming up against my own limitations, and they are moving.  They are getting closer to me.

In all of these things, God has taken care of the things that needed to be taken care of.  The enormous challenge at work has been met.  God has been guiding Heather into truth.  I have found Him to be faithful.

Psalm 121 has been more special to me than before.

Psalms 121:1-8 MKJV
(1)  A Song of degrees. I will lift up my eyes to the hills. Where shall my help come from?
(2)  My help comes from Jehovah, who made Heaven and earth.
(3)  He will not allow your foot to be moved; He who keeps you will not slumber.
(4)  Behold, He who keeps Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.
(5)  Jehovah is your keeper; Jehovah is your shade on your right hand.
(6)  The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night.
(7)  Jehovah shall keep you from all evil; He shall keep your soul.
(8)  Jehovah shall keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth, and even forevermore.

God doesn’t need the strength of my youth.  I can rest in Him.

Craig

Responses

  1. Craig,

    I can certainly relate! But, as Paul says, “Thou our outward man perish, our inward man is renewed gay by day.”
    This is cause for rejoicing because that which is eternal is growing stronger even while the temporal and fallen part of us is growing weaker! So, there is definately a positive aspect to this “aging” thing that eclipses the downside, don’t you agree?

  2. Sorry, not “gay by day”, but day by day!!

  3. I agree Tom. I am SO GLAD this isn’t all there is.

    Craig

  4. In your weakness He is your strength.

  5. […] Fast forward through Dec, the job was harder than I anticipated, the strain more than I could have predicted.  But God came through. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

