Posted by: The Simple Guy | December 29, 2009

What did Jesus say when Judas left?

Don’ t look now, think about it for a minute.  What do you think you would have said?  Remember, Jesus knew exactly what Judas went to do.  Jesus knew what the result would be.  Next time he saw Judas, it would when he would betray Jesus with a kiss.

The pain of betrayal.  You know, with one cross thought he could have destroyed Judas on the spot!  What self-control!

John 13:30-32 MKJV
(30)  He then, having received the morsel, went out immediately. And it was night.
(31)  Then when he had left, Jesus said, Now the Son of Man is glorified, and God is glorified in him.
(32)  If God is glorified in Him, God shall also glorify Him in Himself, and shall immediately glorify Him.

In essence, He said, “Now God is going to show you who I really am, and I am going to show you who God really is!  And this is going to happen immediately!”  or “let’s get on with it, I have waited for this moment for my whole life”

He looked forward to it!  More of the posture of forgiveness.

I must ponder this for a while.

He hurried to my rescue, and looked forward to its fulfillment.  I am so grateful.

Some things I noticed as I contemplated this:

First, he has just pointed out to the disciples that one of them will betray him, and they ask who it is.  In fact, Judas betrays him – but they all abandoned him.  The only difference between Judas and the rest is that he didn’t come back and ask forgiveness.  They showed their true colors.  Judas walking out the door is the epitome of this – but they all did it to some degree or another.

Then Jesus says in effect: That’s who you are, now this is who I am.  You are fickle and faithless.  I am steady and faithful.  You have shown who you are since the garden.  Now I will show who I am starting in the Garden.  You are powerless to save yourself.  I am mighty to save you.

Jesus noticed Judas’ leaving as the cue that started the “last act”   and therefore was able to look forward with anticipation.  (who for the joy set before him, endured the cross, despising the shame)  That joy was the Glory of God.    Because of this, there was no room for a grudge.

Just some random thoughts.  As I said, I must ponder this a while.

Craig

Responses

  1. Thanks for a post that has set me to thinking.

    I think I’d disagree with your assessment that the only difference with Judas was that he didn’t repent. He was also different in other ways.
    –He PLANNED to betray Jesus
    –He ACCEPTED MONEY for his evil actions
    –He PRETENDED to be faithful while on a devilish course
    –The DEVIL entered him
    –He BETRAYED Jesus to Jesus’ enemies; he didn’t just try to save himself by denying him

    Still, as you’ve noted, the largest difference between Judas Iscariot and the others (and betwen him and us) is that he did not repent, and they/we did. Except for God’s grace, all of us would be sufficientliy guilty to deserve eternal punishment.

    You may be interested in my earlier post called “Jesus Was Gracious to Judas.” See the attached url at vineandfig.blogspot.com, or go there and search for the post.

  2. Brother, I also see an important differance between Judas, and for example, Peter. I see this in what Jesus didn’t say to Judas, that is, “I have prayed for thee.” This, I believe, is a critical distinction between Judas and Peter, and is the only reason he and the others were kept from apostasy themselves, as well as what keeps us.

  3. Hey guys,

    Craig’s been working a lot lately but I wanted to jump in with a thought or two for you to kick around while he’s out of commission.

    Judas wasn’t really the central point here. However, I would like to suggest that: apart from Christ’s intervention (as Tom mentioned), we all are dead inside and in love with worldly offerings and enslaved to Satan. Just like Judas.

    We are all treacherous traitors and although I would love to think of myself as somehow being “better” than that, the reality is that I am utterly helpless to do what is right if I’m not being directed by the Holy Spirit.

    But, that was actually a peripheral aspect of the post. What Craig described to me that he sees is the absolute, unwavering devotion of Jesus to His Father and friends in SPITE of the potential (ginormous) distraction of knowing that it was time for Judas to do his dirty deed.

    The picture here is one of
    humble submission to the Father
    single-minded pursuit of the goal that had been set before Him
    concern for his friends and what they would soon have to go through

    In fact, He never let on who was the betrayer and didn’t stop to worry about the fact that the friends would actually run off and leave Him alone. He was completely consumed by Love–first for His Father and, by extension, for those He came to rescue.

    Not a bit of self-pity to be found anywhere even as He poured out His life for a thankless, hostile creation.

    THAT is the God we serve!

  4. Amen Heather,

    It is truly evident in the record of scripture that Jesus’ very “meat” was to do the will of the Father. As the Hebrew writer declares, “Thou hast loved righteousness and hated iniquity….” (Heb.1:9) He was ever about His “Father’s business” and had an unbroken fellowship that we, at this point, can only desire!

  5. Yes, Heather and Craig. I didn’t mean to derail all comments. I’m thankful for the profound, excellent main point of Craig’s post: the example of Jesus. And I fully agree that apart from the Lord’s special grace, we’re all dead spiritually and enslaved to Satan.

  6. Jim and Tom,
    Thanks so much for the thoughts. I do need to be careful that I don’t go past what the text actually teaches.
    Perhaps it would have been more clear had I simply said that I find more similarities between myself and Judas than I would like. I feel that at times we want to make him worse than he was and the rest of the disciples better than they were, so we can ignore our own traiterous tendancies. However, our strength is found in Christ, not ourselves. I am so thrilled that he was not in despair because of Judas, instead, he in essence said “let’s get it on, this is what I came for.”
    Jesus is not ignorant of my sin, and He has overcome it. Praise HIM!

    Heather, you captured what I was thinking. Thanks.

    Craig

  7. It seems, too, like Jesus gave Judas warnings, like when He warned that the one who would betray Him was the one which whom He sopped the bread in the bowl. Judas could have paid heed. Not that it would have stopped Jesus sacrifice of Himself, which was decreed before the foundations of the world as the price for our sins.

  8. “Not that it would have stopped Jesus sacrifice of Himself, which was decreed before the foundations of the world as the price for our sins.”
    Civilla, does that mean you believe in predestination?

    🙂

    Craig

  9. Thanks for the comment Civilla, just messing with you about the predestination thing. 🙂
    Craig

  10. No, I don’t believe in predestination in that God predestines unborn babies to hell or heaven, like that. I believe that times and events, like the birth of Christ, His atoning death, resurrection, second coming, are predestined, if you will. They are foreordained by God and will happen and nothing or no one will stop them. They are God’s over-arching will and it will be accomplished. All us human beings under that arch, if you will, have a God-given free will and God is his graciousness chooses to use us. We can co-operate with Him and be part of his plan or not. If we choose not to, God’s over-arching will will still be accomplished, but we will miss out, maybe even punished. I don’t believe Judas had to betray Christ. Christ’s death would have happened no matter what, because it was part of God’s over-arching will for peoples’ salvation, no matter if Judas betrayed Him or not. Somebody else would have, I assume, or the Romans would have found Him anyway. That’s the way I understand it. Same thing with Mary. She did not have to say, “Be it unto me according to Thy will.” Christ would have been born anyway, because it was God’s over-arching will. She, under that arch, had a choice. If she had chosen no, I assume God would have gotten somebody else, and Mary would have missed out on a blessing. God knows all, and knows the future, but we still have a choice. He is still in control of it all.
    As far as predestination goes. I understand the Word to say that we Christians are predestined to be conformed into the image of God’s Son; it does not say predestined to heaven or hell.

    Do you think maybe that some of us Christians do not fulfill our destiny? At least here on earth? Or, maybe we will when we get to heaven, because then we will be like Jesus.

  11. Tom and Jim,
    Have you considered (in contrasting Judas and Peter) what it actually was that Peter did when he denied Jesus?
    Matthew 26:69-75 MKJV
    (69) And Peter sat outside in the court. And a girl came to him, saying, You also were with Jesus of Galilee.
    (70) But he denied all before them, saying, I do not know what you say.
    (71) And when he had gone out into the porch, another saw him and said to those there, This one was also with Jesus of Nazareth.
    (72) And again he denied with an oath, I do not know the man.
    (73) And after a little while those who stood by came and said to Peter, Surely you also are one of them, for your speech betrays you.
    (74) Then he began to curse and to swear, I do not know the man. And immediately the cock crowed.
    (75) And Peter remembered the word of Jesus, Who said to him, Before the cock crows, you shall deny Me three times. And he went out and wept bitterly.

    Peter made an oath before God that he did not know Jesus, then he called down curses upon himself if he knew Jesus. Some would call that the unpardonable sin, wouldn’t they? (not I, but some)

    My point was just to say that I don’t think the disciples were all that different. However, all but one repented, herein lies the key to the difference between the disciples and Judas. Just my opinion, probably flawed.

    Civilla,
    I agree with much of what you said about predestination. I do however think that in some way God has chosen in advance. Not because I like to think it, or because it totally makes sense to me. Just because it is what He says. He told Jeremiah that He chose him before he was born. He loved Jacob and hated Esau before they were born. Not easy thoughts to think, but I have a hard time explaining them away when I try to say that God doesn’t choose.

    When I contemplate these concepts, I am driven to the end of Romans 11 when Paul discussed them:
    Romans 11:33-36 MKJV
    (33) O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are His judgments, and His ways past finding out!
    (34) For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who became His counselor?
    (35) Or who first gave to Him, and it will be repaid to him?
    (36) For of Him and through Him and to Him are all things; to Him be glory forever! Amen.

    However, the jab about predestination was all in fun, I hope I didn’t get you all flustered. Certainly not the topic at hand. Glad to have you back. Have been praying for you and your rough time recently.

    Craig

  12. Craig, thanks so much for your gracious, God-honoring response to all of us.

  13. Craig,

    It all goes back to man’s condition since the fall. All God must do for a man to choose the wrong way is to leave him alone. As you said above , all of the disciples were fallen sinners. The differance is made by Jesus’ intercession for Peter which He did not make for Judas, He allowed him to do according to his sin nature and the influence of Satan. The differance for all sinners is made by God’s electing and effectual grace that calls some from there willful rebellion to newness of life and overcomes their natural enmity.

  14. You know. I believe the Lord has really impressed upon me over the past several months that we’ve always been helpless to help ourselves. Man was originally created to need God and commune intimately with Him.

    Mary does have a point about our ability to choose, even though we have no idea what we’re doing apart from the Light of Christ.

    Because of Adam’s disbelief of the reality of our need, he decided to listen to the serpent and grab for himself what we were never meant to have–knowledge about how to run our own lives. So, the unsaved really are just fumbling around in the dark, trying to find a light switch.

    Now, we’ve become “sons of disobedience” as well as being helpless. And, in stubborn rebellion, many still refuse to admit that we can’t take things into our own hands and “fix” the world. There’s a lot of toe stubbing and shin smacking and head cracking (and cursing) going on because of it.

    I had a meltdown a while back concerning the whole election-predestination/free choice-foreknowledge thing. Both elements seem to be active, IMO. But I’m not too concerned any more about how the election process works or whether we are somehow cooperating with God, because what’s really been slammed home to me is that the most important thing we need to realize (and strive to remember) is that God’s always been the One running this “show”, we desperately need Him, and His ways and purposes are far, far above anything we can imagine.

    So often, the thought comes to my mind that I don’t think we really understand what we’re looking at while stuck here in time and space. Sure, there are things we can know–and God will make clear those things He has promised to us. But the more I become sure in some areas, the more I realize how little I actually know overall.

    Still, it’s fun to speculate and discuss about what He’s like, while searching together for priceless treasures of Truth. 😉

  15. Yes, good points, Craig. God did choose Jeremiah before he was born. Esau, etc. Guess it is the foreknowledge thing. He knew what was going to happen before these people were born and loved or hated them. So hard to wrap our little pea-brains around all this stuff! Guess if we could, it would mean that God isn’t any smarter than we are. We have to trust.

  16. […] the children of Israel from Egypt.  The theme continues throughout all of Scripture.  We see it as Jesus loves Judas to the end, as Jim pointed out. Jesus is the ultimate personification of God’s grace, as well as all of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

