Posted by: The Simple Guy | November 27, 2009

Manhattan Declaration

I am not the political sort.  I personally am very opposed to the idea of combining faith with politics.  However, I read the text of the Manhattan Declaration today.  I signed it here, because I agree with it.  I believe that government answers to God.  Sadly, our elected officials have been laughing in God’s face for some time now (probably since before I was born), and I think Godly people should humbly point out that this will not come without a price.

Let the chips fall where they may, I believe in the dignity of human life because we were made in God’s image.  I believe in the sanctity of marriage (between one man and one woman for life) because scripture teaches that marriage is a reflection of Christ and His church.  And since God will hold every man accountable for his own personal choice for or against Christ, I will defend each man’s right to make that choice without intimidation from government, or any man.  We should fear God alone, for in the end we will stand before Him alone.

Here I stand, I can do no other.

I am under no illusion that this nation is a Christian nation, maybe it was at one time, but not in my life time.  I am also under no illusion that this will somehow turn the tide and save our nation.  Only God can save our nation.

But in the end, regardless of the consequences, right is right, and wrong is wrong.

Craig

 

Responses

  1. Well said! I couldn’t agree more…

  2. John MacArthur, James White, and Alistair Begg have all refused to sign, as they believe that the MD misrepresents the Gospel. Dan Phillips addresses this a Pyromaniacs today & Dr White posted a video discussing the MD.

  3. Mr Squirrel,
    Thank you for your comment. I am aware of MacArthur’s opinion, as his was actually the first I read about it on Fred’s blog. However, I think people are making this way too complicated. Perhaps because I am “The Simple Guy”
    I do not see that this statement attempted to represent the gospel, so I don’t think it misrepresents it. Taken at face value I agree with the words of the declaration. To me personally it matters very little who agrees or disagrees. Truth is truth.
    I place it in this category:
    I vote, I sign petitions against abortion, gay marriage, and would defend religious liberty. In my view, that is what this is. When we look at men in order to make our decisions, we can convince ourselves either way. (not saying you are doing this, but I do feel these men MAY be.) If a mormon, a jw, an athiest, or a catholic wants to say publicly that abortion, gay marriage, and religious tyranny are wrong, I am not going to be silent just because I disagree with their theology.

    I absolutely disagree with the “common word between us” type of statements, but I don’t believe this fits in that category.

    Just my thoughts, I welcome yours.

    Craig

  4. […] to answer all and every aspect of the protests against signing.  I signed it, and explained why here.  In essence, the major concern seems to be that Catholic, Orthodox, and Evangelicals do not agree […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

