Posted by: Heather | October 8, 2009

pickin your brains again

Sunday is my turn to preach. We are going to be looking at 1 Cor 15:12-34. I love the resurrection. By far my favorite subject to preach on. However, I am having difficulty with two sets of verses in this text.

First these ones:

1 Corinthians 15:25-28
(25) for it is right for Him to reign until He has put all the enemies under His feet.
(26) The last enemy made to cease is death.
(27) For He put all things under His feet. But when He says that all things have been put under His feet, it is plain that it excepts Him who has put all things under Him.
(28) But when all things are subjected to Him, then the Son Himself also will be subject to Him who has subjected all things to Him, so that God may be all things in all.

Verse 28 is the one I am struggling with. Does it correlate with chapter 11?

1 Corinthians 11:3
(3) But I would have you know that the head of every man is Christ; and the head of the woman is the man; and the head of Christ is God.

The next verse I am struggling with is verse 29:

1 Corinthians 15:29
(29) Otherwise, what will they do, those being baptized on behalf of the dead? If the dead are not at all raised, why indeed are they baptized on behalf of the dead?

What is Paul referring to here?

I know what I think about these verses, but I am not very firmly convinced in my opinion. I would welcome the input of those of you out there who are willing to give it!

Craig

Leave a Reply

Categories

