Posted by: Heather | September 5, 2009

Just Pondering . . .

I was pondering a thought as I went to sleep last night that I wanted to share with you. Not sure I have the answer, but it is a question worth thinking about, I think.

It began with the subject of my last post. Jesus sustains the entire universe without effort. He carries it lightly! I began to think of the times in scripture that God rested. We know He rested on the 7th day because all was very good, and things were as they should be.

We know from Hebrews 1, and Psalm 2, and Psalm 110 that Jesus is seated (at rest) at the right hand of the Father because His work is done. God is making the world Jesus’ foot stool.

But the thought that intrigued me was the time that Jesus fell asleep in the boat on the Sea of Galilee.

Mark 4:35-41
(35) That evening, Jesus said to his disciples, “Let’s cross to the east side.”
(36) So they left the crowd, and his disciples started across the lake with him in the boat. Some other boats followed along.
(37) Suddenly a windstorm struck the lake. Waves started splashing into the boat, and it was about to sink.
(38) Jesus was in the back of the boat with his head on a pillow, and he was asleep. His disciples woke him and said, “Teacher, don’t you care that we’re about to drown?”
(39) Jesus got up and ordered the wind and the waves to be quiet. The wind stopped, and everything was calm.
(40) Jesus asked his disciples, “Why were you afraid? Don’t you have any faith?”
(41) Now they were more afraid than ever and said to each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!”

It is so easy for me to look at Jesus during his time here on earth as a victim of circumstance. He was tired so he slept. But let’s step back a second and realize that everything that is recorded about him is there for a reason. Jesus slept in the storm. Did His disciples really think that God’s purpose for the coming of the Messiah would be thwarted by a storm in the Sea of Galilee? (picture God in Heaven saying to the Holy Spirit, “Well, we’ll have to try something else to save mankind, Jesus and the disciples just drowned in the Sea of Galilee!”)

How many times am I like the disciples. God, aren’t you worried? Don’t you know what is going on??? Of course He does. HIS PURPOSE WILL BE ACCOMPLISHED.

Jesus sustains all of the complexities of the universe, but he carries it lightly. I struggled all week just to make boards, and came home beat down and exhausted.

So here is the question I went to sleep thinking about. Why am I not carrying it lightly? Shouldn’t I be?

Just the thoughts of a Simple Guy

Matthew 11:28-30
(28) If you are tired from carrying heavy burdens, come to me and I will give you rest.
(29) Take the yoke I give you. Put it on your shoulders and learn from me. I am gentle and humble, and you will find rest.
(30) This yoke is easy to bear, and this burden is light.

Leave a Reply

Categories

