Posted by: Heather | August 20, 2009

My Birthday

Today I turned 38. I was just thinking today, that if I am half way through this ride, I will have to make it to the ripe old age of 76!

Some songs that were going through my mind today. (some of you might lose some respect for me when you hear these, as they are songs I used to listen to when I was 16 – and are still some of my favorites – Greg X. Volz was the lead singer for Petra at one time, and still sings solo. These were from his first or second solo album.)

05 Dream On

Words and music: Steven Tyler

Every time I look in the mirror

All these lines on my face getting clearer

The past is gone

Then when night, like dusk to dawn

Isn’t that the way

Everybody’s got their dues in life to pay

Half my life’s in book’s written pages

Live and learn from fools and from sages

You know it’s true

All these things come back to you

Well, I know nobody knows

Where it comes and where it goes

I know it’s everybody’s sin

You got to lose, in order to win

Sing with me, sing for the year

Sing for the laughter, sing for the tear

Sing with me, just for today, never tomorrow

Cause the good Lord’ll take you away, take you away

Dream on, dream on, dream on

Dream until the dream comes true

Dream on, dream on, dream on

Dream until your dream comes true

People who know me will tell you that a question I will ask often is: “Are you winning?” It is kind of my opening line when talking to someone. But there is a reason. In my life, I am looking for winners. You can tell a lot about people by how they answer that question. Answers range from “always” to “I didn’t know we were playing” or worse, they will ask me “Winning what?” About the only worse thing in my book than losing, is not knowing. Know what I mean?

01 I Come Out Fighting

Words and music: Bob Halligan Jr.

I come out fighting

I hear the bell

It’s time for the first round

The daily news

It’s time for a knock down

Some people think

It’s not their battle

To believe the world will be o.k.

We gotta strap on the gloves

And we may just win

When we say

I come out fighting

I make the vow that

I will play this game to win

Take on the fight

My Trainer to guide me

Can’t shake the fright

That wells up inside me

Hit the ring

Face the news at Eleven

Take the tragedies on the chin

And I go down for the count

But now I’m back on my feet

Screaming

Sure I have my days

When no great love is lost on life

End up on the canvas some days

But not without a fight

Well, hope you enjoyed. This is just part of who I am.

Craig

Leave a Reply

Categories

