Posted by: Heather | July 4, 2009

17 years ago today

Nineteen years ago I began getting to know a very special (and beautiful) young lady. A lady I was interested in making my bride.

Seventeen years ago today she became my bride. Married on Independence Day you ask? Isn’t that a bit of an irony? Absolutely not. I have been free to pursue the life God designed for me as a husband and father. We have been free to be a family, rather than constrained to remain separate. I have been free to share my heart, my thoughts, my fears, and my dreams with one who has promised to stay with me until death separates us.

Marriage is a picture of the relationship God desires with us his bride. While the world sees this relationship with God as constraining and restricting, the truth is that God has saved us unto freedom. Do you know this freedom? Have you become the bride of Christ? He has promised to never leave or forsake His own, and His death did not separate us, but has purchased us forever. He has literally risen from the dead, and will die no more. If we are His bride then we can say with Paul:
Philippians 3:10-14
(10) that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being made conformable to His death;
(11) if by any means I might attain to the resurrection of the dead.
(12) Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect, but I am pressing on, if I may lay hold of that for which I also was taken hold of by Christ Jesus.
(13) My brothers, I do not count myself to have taken possession, but one thing I do, forgetting the things behind and reaching forward to the things before,
(14) I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

I have spent the last 19 years getting to know Heather. Seventeen years ago we committed to continue getting to know one another not as two separate people, but as one married unit. This “getting to know” her is to show us Christ. Not in a “let’s see if this works out” manner, but in a “till death separates us” way of life. Have you committed yourself to Christ in this manner? I want you to know that you do not know true freedom until you have.

Thanks for the living lesson Heather. Thanks as well for . . . well . . . I don’t have words to thank you for the friend you have been to me. It is not good for me to be alone. God has made my life very good by bringing us together.

Craig

Responses

  1. Love you, too 🙂

  2. Congratulations to you both

  3. awww 🙂

    Happy Anniversary!

    Your lives and marriage have often been a blessing and encouragement to us. Love you both so very much…

  4. Congrats, Craig & Heather!

    ~Squirrel

  5. Wow, congradulations to you guys!


Leave a Reply

Categories

