Posted by: Heather | January 1, 2009

Things I Have Learned Lately

2Co 7:9 I now rejoice, not that ye were made sorry, but that ye were made sorry unto repentance; for ye were made sorry after a godly sort, that ye might suffer loss by us in nothing.

There is sorrow

There is Godly sorrow

Godly sorrow leads to repentance.

Many of us have been sorry, and stopped there mistaking the feeling of sorrow for repentance. Repentance is the action that results from Godly sorrow. The actual turning from evil and doing good.

There is a time to be sad. Often when I am sad “for no reason” and then examine my heart; I find that I have been seeing through one of my illusions but don’t want to admit it. . . because I would have to change what I am doing. (Sad and sorrowful, but not Godly sorrow yet, and not repentance)

When sadness leads me to Godly sorrow, then I find repentance. When I humble myself in the sight of the Lord, HE lifts me up in his time, and that joy cannot be taken. (example: see my post on “no more night“)

Jas 4:9 Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to heaviness.
Jas 4:10 Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall exalt you.

. . . and then a few verses later:

Jas 5:1 Come now, ye rich, weep and howl for your miseries that are coming upon you.
Jas 5:2 Your riches are corrupted, and your garments are moth-eaten.
Jas 5:3 Your gold and your silver are rusted; and their rust shall be for a testimony against you, and shall eat your flesh as fire. Ye have laid up your treasure in the last days.

The rich young ruler had much and could not let it go to follow Jesus and die.

Jesus said in essence it is hard for people with lots of stuff to follow him.

I have lots of stuff.

I need to be careful not to allow my life to be about this stuff. If I realize that this stuff is in the way, I will let go of it. Then it will be no big deal when someone actually takes it away. I already let it go and saw it for what it was.

Losing my illusion is painful, but not as much as it would be if I lost my stuff and my illusion at the same time, or worse yet, lost my stuff and not the illusion. (the illusion in this instance is needing or depending on lots of stuff in the last days)

Isa 26:3 Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee; because he trusteth in thee.
Isa 26:4 Trust ye in Jehovah for ever; for in Jehovah, even Jehovah, is an everlasting rock.

This is not an illusion.

I told Heather today, “This life we have is good, but it isn’t heaven. Thank God!”

Craig

Responses

  1. It is scary to think how ignorant we are sometimes and what a wake up call we may receive when we get to heaven. I know far too many “Christians” that have put their treasures on earth, that have “faith” but no obedience (no evidence of faith). I think many of us are going to have our eyes opened when we get to the end, and hopefully not to judgement. It is so true how we often don’t even see our treasures as a hindrance to our salvation. Maybe that is not what you meant, but I believe there are many suffering the same problem.

  2. You nailed it, this is exactly what i am talking about.


Leave a Reply

Categories

