Posted by: Heather | December 16, 2008

Timeless Stability

Psa 15:1 A Psalm of David. Jehovah, who shall dwell in Your tabernacle? Who shall dwell on Your holy hill?

(Is this where I really want to live? This is a serious question. . . . Yes, I want to live there. As Peter said to Jesus, “where else would we go? You have the words of life!”

Psa 15:2 He who walks uprightly, and works righteousness, and speaks the truth in his heart;

(not just speaking the truth outside, but in his heart )

Psa 15:3 he does not backbite with his tongue, nor does evil to his neighbor, nor takes up a reproach against his neighbor;

(So simple, but so hard)

Psa 15:4 in whose eyes the reprobate is despised, but he honors those who fear Jehovah; he has sworn to his hurt, and does not change it;

(If I don’t keep my own word, I become the reprobate)

Psa 15:5 he has not put out his money at interest, nor has he taken a bribe against the innocent. He who does these things shall not be moved forever.

You would think the recipe for stability would be much more complicated. We tend to make it so.

My other favorite Psalm

Craig

Responses

  1. 🙂

  2. I trust that Gods eyes are on the people described in this passage. I have put as much as I know into living in that manner, and I have the hope that God will shelter and bless those who honor Him.Thanks sharing this…

  3. Ryan,I agree with you. I think that is the essence of living in his tabernacle, and on his holy hill. We want God’s protection, but often we don’t want to actually live with Him. I think this was the rich young ruler’s mistake. He wanted the benefits of the kingdom, but would not give up everything for the king.The only way dwelling in his tabernacle will be bearable in any way is if we relish being with God himself.Craig


Leave a Reply

Categories

