Posted by: Heather | November 8, 2008

now isn’t the time to panic

Are you ready to panic? Do you look at the stock market and the economy, and find yourself ready to run and hide? Do you look at your 401k statement for the last quarter and notice it went down instead of up? Does that have you shook up?

David was shook up at one time, and he wrote this (my comments will be in parenthesis like this)

Psa 121:1 I look to the mountains; where will my help come from? (sounds like he felt alone and was ready to head for the hills)
Psa 121:2 My help will come from the LORD, who made heaven and earth. (Probably don’t need to head for the hills for Him to help, since he made them as well as where I am standing now)
Psa 121:3 He will not let you fall; your protector is always awake. (Isn’t that awesome, God is MY protector!!)
Psa 121:4 The protector of Israel never dozes or sleeps. (That’s NEVER in case you missed it, not seldom, or usually doesn’t, NEVER!!)
Psa 121:5 The LORD will guard you; he is by your side to protect you. (by my side – I guess I had better behave, then)
Psa 121:6 The sun will not hurt you during the day, nor the moon during the night. (sounds like it doesn’t depend on good or bad times, both of which are dangerous by the way)
Psa 121:7 The LORD will protect you from all danger; he will keep you safe.
Psa 121:8 He will protect you as you come and go now and forever. (that’s a pretty long time)

You know, I have heard a story about some men who were playing a poker game, and heard that the end of the world was coming in just a few minutes. One after the other they all rushed off to this or that thing that they just had to take care of. The last man looked at the dealer and said, “I will finish the game.” Now the story was used to illustrate someone who had nothing worth living for and was just here for the thrill of the minute, but it has always struck me that my response in a similar situation (not that I play poker) should be the same. I should have the courage to stay put when it looks hopeless, because I know who is in control, and I am being obedient (which would mean I am in the right place). So now that the economy looks grim, I will finish the game. I don’t know what the effects of this will be, but I know who is driving, and I know I am where I belong. I also know He will let me know if it is time to move here or there, and it won’t be a retreat, I won’t be heading for the hills. I know who wins, I read the end of the book.

So, where have you placed your trust?

Craig

Leave a Reply

Categories

